SpaceX Rocket Launch Of Bangabandhu-1 Set For May 11, 2018

CAPE CANAVERAL, Florida – The launch of a SpaceX Falcon 9 Block 5 rocket carrying a Bangabandhu-1 communications satellite is scheduled to liftoff on Friday, May 11, 2018 from Space Launch Complex 39A (LC-39A) at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

The launch window opens at 4:14 p.m. EDT, or 20:14 UTC, and closes at 8:14 p.m. EDT, or 00:14 UTC

The launch was scrubbed on Thursday  after an automatic abort was triggered just 58 seconds before launch.

Launch Weather 60% ‘GO’

According to the latest forecast from the U.S. Air Force 45th Weather Squadron, there is a 60% chance of favorable weather for the launch. The primary weather concerns are thick cloud layers and cumulus clouds.

New Block 5 Falcon 9 Upgrade

This will be the first launch of SpaceX’s  Falcon 9 Block 5, the final substantial upgrade to SpaceX’s Falcon 9 launch vehicle.

Falcon 9 Block 5 is designed to be capable of 10 or more flights with very limited refurbishment as SpaceX continues to strive for rapid reusability and extremely high reliability.

Attempted Landing On Drone Ship

Following stage separation, the first stage of the Falcon 9 Block 5 will attempt a landing on the “Of Course I Still Love You” autonomous drone ship.

Payload

Bangabandhu Satellite-1 is Bangladesh’s first geostationary communications satellite.  The satellite will be deployed into a geostationary transfer orbit  approximately 33 minutes after launch.