2020 Florida Minimum Wage Set To Increase January 1

Florida’s minimum wage is set to increase ten cents from $8.46 to $8.56 per hour for the year 2020 on January 1st, according to the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity.

The extra dime per hour for Florida’s minimum wage earners is an increase of 1.12 percent.

Florida’s 2020 minimum wage will also increase ten cents for tipped employees from $5.44 to $5.54 per hour.

In 2004, Florida voters approved a constitutional amendment which created Florida’s minimum wage.

Florida voters will decide again in 2020 if the minimum wage should be increased to $15 per hour after the Florida Supreme Court approved the ballot language of an amendment supported by Orlando, Florida attorney John Morgan.

If approved, Florida’s minimum wage would increase to $10 per hour in 2021 and continue to increase by a dollar a year until Florida’s minimum wage reaches $15 in 2026.

Employers must pay their employees the hourly state minimum wage for all hours worked in Florida.

Employees who are not paid the minimum wage may bring a civil action against the employer or any person violating Florida’s minimum wage law.

The state attorney general may also bring an enforcement action to enforce the minimum wage.

Florida Statutes also require employers who must pay their employees the Florida minimum wage to post a minimum wage poster in a conspicuous and accessible place in each establishment where these employees work.

Share
Copyright 2011-2019 BrevardTimes.com Privacy Policy Contact Us