4th of July 2020 Full Moon Tonight Is A Penumbral Lunar Eclipse

Full Moon

A Full Moon will occur tonight on the 4th of July 2020, beginning with a moonrise over the Atlantic Ocean at 8:13 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (with plus or minus a few minutes depending on your exact location along Florida’s east coast).

The Full Moon will technically be 100% full at 12:44 a.m. on Sunday, July 5th. The moon will set at 6:45 a.m.

July 2020 Full Buck Moon Penumbral Lunar Eclipse

The July 2020 Full Moon brings with it a penumbral eclipse, which occurs when the Moon passes through Earth’s lighter outer shadow.

Unlike a Total Lunar Eclipse, a penumbral lunar eclipse will not turn into a reddish blood moon. Instead, the moon turns a slightly darker grey.

According to The Farmer’s Almanac, the penumbral lunar eclipse will be visible from most of North America, except in the northernmost regions of Canada and Alaska.

The eclipse will begin at 11:04 P.M. EDT (8:04 P.M. PDT) on July 4 and end at 1:56 A.M. EDT on July 5 (10:56 P.M. PDT on July 4).

Why is a Full Moon in July called a Thunder Moon or Buck Moon?

These moon names are associated with seasonal occurrences that happen in July. Male deer, known as bucks, begin to sprout their antlers which is why it is called a Buck Moon.

Thunder Moon gets its name from the summer thunderstorms that happen in July.

When is the best time to watch July’s Full Moon?

Low hanging moons near the horizon appear larger to humans.

So, the Buck Moon will appear biggest to the naked eye on the U.S east coast during and just after the moonrise.

Image credit: NASA